You’re finally ready to get behind the wheel, but Michigan requires all teens under the age of 18 to take Driver’s Ed segments one and two. Courses are either available to teens online or in person.
According to the State of Michigan, Michigan’s driver education curriculum is split into two segments and is required for all teen drivers under the age of 18 years old.
Being able to take driver’s ed does cost a lot of money (up to $330) and that’s just segment one. Segment two is around $55, depending on where you sign up.
The first segment of driver’s ed focuses on both notes about driving and on-the-road driving experience. Once you get through segment one, you have to hold your licence for three months. After that, you can start segment two, which is a three day course that focuses on the dangers of driving and how to avoid them. ‘’My experience with driver’s ed was fun and exciting. The first part is mostly writing and taking notes about the road signs,” said freshman Bidata Bista. In addition to notes, segment one includes learning how to drive with the instructor (six drives in total).
Back when Everett students’ parents were in school, driver’s education was free to every teen and was offered through a program overseen by the Department of Education to the Department of State. At Everett, driver’s ed was even a class students could take for credit. But funding was low so they discontinued this.
‘’When I turned 15 back in the late 1980s, taking driver’s education was a given. In Michigan, as in many states at the time, young drivers were trained through the public school system, and as such, the program was free,’’ said Everett grad Kathi Veleii.
For some students, the $400 price tag is just too high of a price to pay.
“I was thinking of taking driver’s ed before I turned 18 but the price was way over priced for me and my family to pay. This is sad for teens who want their license but can’t afford it,” said junior Naomi Moore.
The way it works is that if someone’s under the age of 18, they’re required by the State of Michigan to take both segments of driver’s ed in order to get their driver’s permit/license. However, those 18 or older can take either the written test for their permit and/or the driving test for their license without taking the driver’s ed courses. This saves people hundreds of dollars they’d normally spend on the courses.
State of Michigan data shows that, in 2004, 59 percent of teens had waited for their driver’s license until they turned 18. By 2016 that percentage dropped by five points, to 54 percent.
According to a 2013 study conducted by the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety just 54 percent of teens are licensed before they turn 18, and only 44 percent of teens obtain a driver’s license within the first 12 months of their being eligible to do so. In Michigan the number of younger drivers is even lower: In 2012, only 34 percent of teens younger than 16 had their license, and that percentage has remained consistent since.
Teens that are willing to wait until they turn 18 only have take the test (written for permit, driving for license.
Driver’s education information can be found here: